CUR Mix 08 | Thelonious Funk

For the eighth segment of the Come Up Records mix series, we welcome our second Chicagoan to the controls, in the form of Henderick Mitchell a.k.a. Thelonious-Funk

‘For this mix I just wanted to reflect on what led me to djing for almost 2 decades.I wanted to do a concept focused on my days club hopping. So this mix will focus on various locations I’ve experienced. Most are gone & some remain to this day in Chicago. The first destination we go to is Sinibar in Wicker Park with tracks from Henrik Schwarz, Innocent Sorcerers, S.U.M.O. & Nature Boy. The second destination is about Sonotheque in Ukrainian Village with Ron Trent, Yennek, Instinct & Luomo. We go to Mad Bar in Bucktown with tracks from DJ Fett Burger, 3 Chairs, MB & Prince Of Denmark. We go around the corner to Red Dog (AKA OHM) with some deeper cuts from Kerri Chandler, The Oliverwho Factory, TOM Project & Mental Overdrive. For the next destination we go to Primary in Near North Side with tracks from Calibre, DVS1, Thomas Urv & a stomping remix of Vohkinne by DJ Spider. And for The Final Destination we travel further north to Wrigleyville with some filth from Prince Of Denmark, Mike Dearborn, Najem Sworb, EQD & Planet Of Drums to round off the night.’



Destination 1: Sinibar
1. Henrik Schwarz – “Leave My Head Alone Brain” (Sunday Music)
2. Innocent Sorcerers – “One Dollar Race” (Raw Fusion Recordings)
3. S.U.M.O. – “Lovebeat” [Karizma’s K2 Darq Dub] (HEYA HIFI)
4. Nature Boy – “Real” [Dubwise] (Dubweizer)

Destination 2: Sonotheque
5. Ron Trent – “Energy” (Rush Hour)
6. Yennek – “Kiss Me Again” [Goodbye Kiss Remix] (Art Of Dance)
7. Instinct – “A Groove” (Decisive Records)
8. Luomo – “Class” (Force Tracks)

Destination 3: Mad Bar
9. DJ Fett Burger – “Pub 18” (Freakout Cult)
10. 3 Chairs – “Next Message” (Three Chairs)
11. MB – “Gottogoaway” (WB)
12. Prince Of Denmark – “Darkspirit Cut” (FORUM)

Destination 4: Red Dog/OHM
13. Kerri Chandler – “Back To The Raw” [Unreleased Ruff Instrumental Mix ](Deeply Rooted House)
14. The Oliverwho Factory – “Basement Party” (Madd Chaise Inc PROMO)
15. TOM Project – “Untitled” (Unreleased)
16. Mental Overdrive – “After The Lights” (PLOINK PROMO)

Destination 5: Primary
17. Calibre – “Don’t Watch This” (Signature)
18. DVS1 – “It’s All About” (HUSH)
19. Vohkinne – “Perceived Augmentation of Light” [DJSpider Remix] (Atrophic Society PROMO)
20. Thomas Urv – “HZ” (PLOINK PROMO)

Final Destination: Smart Bar
21. Prince Of Denmark – “Hacker” (Unreleased)
22. Mike Dearborn – “Razorsharp” [303 Mix] (Djax-Up-Beats)
23. Najem Sworb – “Aorta” (Métis Recordings)
24. EQD – “001 Side B” (Equalized)
25. Planet Of Drums – “Egypt” (Avex Trax)


For monthly sessions from the Thelonious one, go check out his blog:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s